This is my finished sketch of the painting "Martyrdom of Saint Bartholomew". This is actually my second attempt at a finished sketch. The first one I was marrying the details and focusing too much on the small things. So for this one I ended tuning the picture of the painting I am recreating upside down to put my focus on the big picture and shades instead. Unfortunately my proportions were off even when I was using a grid. His near arm is not long enough. It doesn't meet the two sides of the paper that it should. I still am far from the quality I want in my final but for that I will spend much more time to make sure that all of the tones are how they should be if the painting was in black and white. But it is much improved from my thumbnail sketch. You can actually kinda see what is in the picture. When I did this sketch it bugged my how dark I made the Saint's eye so I will have to remember to lighten that up for my final piece. Also, much as I expected the hands I drew also didn't turn out, so I will be taking special care of those.      



Leave a Reply.