So this is a very, very rough sketch of my project. I was mostly concerned on the big shapes in the picture. I wanted to make sure that I would know the placement of the people in comparison to a different sized paper. I put next to zero detail in this sketch. Instead I roughly put in some of the different values. The darkest values will be in the corners, namely the bottom right side. Also the man who is apparently holding a knife will also be deep within the shadows making the main focus the man, Bartholomew. Obviously i will improve on this sketch by adding detail and darkening the shadows and making sure everything is in the right place. I was interested in what was happening in this painting so I looked up the word "Martyrdom". It turns up it means the death of a martyr, or someone who will die for a cause. So it turns out that this is a dark painting depicting the last minutes of St. Bartholomew, right before the shadow man with a knife kills him. Sad.   



Leave a Reply.